Maidenhead 11 Plus Tuition Courses

  • My child joined Marie Redmond in the summer term after her previous tuition company went bust. I had already been very unhappy with the standard of everything I could see there but was doubting my judgement as a first-time 11+ tuition parent. As soon as we moved to Marie Redmond it was very clear I had been correct. I have been unbelievably impressed with the teacher (Jacqueline), the coursework, the company specific workbooks and content and also now enjoy marking her work myself as I'm much more aware of what and how she's doing. I think above all else I have been impressed with the excellent level of professionalism they have shown us weekly through emails and texts. They are regular, accurate, timely and to the point yet full of the detailed information we need as busy working parents. I'm delighted we found Marie Redmond tuition in time. [From Google Review. The location of the parent/child has been excluded as their name is featured on Google]

    Year 6 parent, Location Confidential (2023)

Days and Times for Our Maidenhead 11+ Tuition Courses

The Maidenhead 11 Plus tuition courses are divided into three terms and if your child misses the start of a term, they are welcome to join at a later date (subject to availability).

Skip to Maidenhead 11+ tuition dates >

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now

The Sir John Madejski Scholarship

What you can expect for your child on our Maidenhead 11+ tuition courses

We develop pupils’ knowledge so they’re equipped to answer a broad range of challenging verbal, mathematical and non-verbal reasoning questions.

Our Maidenhead 11+ Tuition Courses Are Limited in Size

All our Maidenhead 11 Plus classes are limited in size (less than half the size of most independent school lessons), which means that your child will have valuable one-to-one attention with their fully qualified teacher. Discover the proven benefits of small class sizes.

Assessment

Your child is assessed twice during each team – at half term and at the end of term. Based on the outcome of their initial assessment, we will create a tuition plan that sets their individual targets for each area they are preparing for (e.g. verbal, non-verbal and numerical reasoning). All lessons throughout the course are then designed to develop these areas. We continually monitor your child’s progress; this means that we can check they’ve achieved their individual targets and revise their tuition plan to ensure that it suits their needs and challenges. You are welcome to get in touch with us at any time during your child’s tuition, to gain feedback on their development.

SuccessTrack® by Marie Redmond is our unique data-led service that allows parents to:

  • Track their child’s progress over the Year 4 and 5 term time courses – our charts visualise a student’s performance in each area of the 11 Plus, using data from our regular assessments (2 per term).
  • See their child’s overall score and how that compares to our recommended pass mark for each exam they are planning to sit.
  • View anonymously how their child’s scores compare (for each topic area and at a total level) to the average of all children in their cohort.
  • View their child’s termly tuition plan, created using data from their assessments.
  • Read the end of term student report from their child’s teacher.

Marie Redmond Tuition ‘Bag of Knowledge®’

Resource Pack for Marie Redmond Tuition 11 Plus Courses in Buckinghamshire and SloughAt the start of the Maidenhead 11+ tuition course, your child will receive a Bag of Knowledge® containing their class and homework books. This includes selected Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® resources, in addition to books that are carefully curated each year from a wide range of reputable publishers. All our students are presented with their books in a Marie Redmond Tuition® rucksack, featuring an electronic thesaurus, notebook and a pencil case containing pencils, an eraser and sharpener. The cost of your child’s Bag of Knowledge® is covered within the monthly course fees.

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® 11 Plus Resources

A range of Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books are provided exclusively to students on our courses.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® 11+ Flashcards packaging Using the knowledge gained during her eleven years of preparing students for the 11+ and independent school entrance exams, Marie Redmond MEd has written a number of verbal reasoning, English and maths books. Additionally, a range of verbal reasoning holiday course books are provided exclusively to students attending our Year 5 11+ Easter and 11+ summer holiday courses.

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® 11 Plus Flash Cards are given to all our term time students when they join our 11+ tuition courses in Maidenhead, to supercharge their vocabulary skills.

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books for Year 5 Maidenhead 11+ Tuition Courses

Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Year 5 Verbal Reasoning and Maths Books for our Maidenhead 11+ tuition courses

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books for Year 5 Holiday Courses

Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Verbal Reasoning and Maths Books

Marie Redmond’s Superbrain® Books for Year 4 Maidenhead 11+ Tuition CoursesMarie Redmond's Superbrain® Year 4 Books for our Maidenhead 11+ tuition courses

Homework

11+ homework at Marie Redmond TuitionTo help reinforce skills taught during the Maidenhead 11 Plus tuition course, we’ll provide homework at the end of each lesson – with reviews of each topic in the following session. This gives pupils the opportunity to ask any questions on areas they may have struggled with. As reading comprehension and vocabulary are such important parts of the 11 Plus exams, we recommend that parents encourage their children to read as wide a range of fiction and non-fiction books as possible.

The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club

Marie Redmond Tuition Book ClubSharing our enjoyment of books is a fantastic way to encourage reading and therefore develop vocabulary and comprehension at home. The Marie Redmond Tuition® Book Club is open to all students attending our term-time 11 Plus tuition courses in Maidenhead and is an excellent platform for discussions about books, opportunities for creativity and promoting reading for pleasure. Discover our book of the month.

Creative Writing Course

11+ Creative Writing Course for the Reading School entrance exam

The virtual creative writing course is taught by our experienced teacher, Anne, who has an immense passion for reading and writing and leads our Book Club, in addition to teaching 11+ courses. This option is particularly useful for boys preparing for the Reading School 11+ exam but is open to all our term-time students, including those attending our 11 Plus tuition courses in Maidenhead.

Students attend one creative writing lesson per week on Zoom, which lasts for 45 minutes. During every lesson they participate in a fun writing skills warm-up activity which might focus on grammar or a literary device, they might read and analyse a writing example or use a story prompt, and then work on creating their own text.

Every week there is a focus which can include story settings, characters, openings, events / problems and resolutions.Marie Redmond's Superbrain® Creative Writing Notebook Students practise writing in a variety of formats such as stories, plays, newspaper articles and letters. They are taught to use a variety of literary techniques and we show them how to draft their work, as well as reviewing and editing.

Homework is set every week. Students build upon the tasks in their lesson to create their own text. The texts are then reviewed at the start of the next lesson.

One lesson per week on Zoom, lasting 45 minutes. Tuesdays at 4:30 pm, 5:30 pm or 6:30 pm.

For further information, including fees, term dates and FAQ’s, please visit our creative writing course page.

Maidenhead 11 Plus Course Fees

We offer a straightforward monthly payment plan for our 11 Plus tuition courses in Maidenhead (Near Marlow), which you can see on our fees page.

11 Plus Holiday Courses

Our 4-day 11 Plus Intensive Easter Course for Year 5 students takes place in Amersham, Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross, Stoke Poges and Winnersh. Our 11 Plus Intensive Summer Courses consist of 4-day courses for Year 4 students or 5-day courses for Year 5 students and take place in Amersham, Aylesbury, Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross, High Wycombe, Stoke Poges and Winnersh. The holiday courses concentrate on exam techniques and skills gaps, with educational games playing an integral part so that children remain engaged throughout. The 11 Plus Summer Courses for Year 5 students include a mock exam on the final day.

What do the 11 Plus Maidenhead Courses focus on?

Verbal skills, i.e. English and Verbal Reasoning

  • Comprehension
  • Verbal reasoning (the production of words, relationships between words, letters and numbers)
  • Vocabulary
  • Spelling
  • Grammar
  • Punctuation

Mathematical skills

  • Basic skills (addition, multiplication, division and subtraction)
  • Mental maths development
  • Problem solving techniques
  • Extracting information from graphs and tables
  • Averages
  • Foundation algebra concepts
  • Fractions, decimals and percentages
  • Ratio and proportion
  • Area and volume
  • 2d and 3d shapes

Non-verbal skills

  • Spatial awareness
  • Logical deduction skills
  • Mathematical concepts such as symmetry, rotation and reflection
  • Identifying relationships, similarities and differences between figures
  • Identifying sequences between shapes

Maidenhead 11+ Tuition Course Dates

Autumn Term 2024 Spring Term 2025 Summer Term 2025
Saturday 14th September
Wednesday 18th September
Saturday 11th January Wednesday 23rd April
Saturday 26th April
Saturday 21st September
Wednesday 25th September
Wednesday 15th January
Saturday 18th January
Wednesday 30th April
Saturday 3rd May
Saturday 28th September
Wednesday 2nd October
Wednesday 22nd January
Saturday 25th January
Wednesday 7th May
Saturday 10th May
Saturday 5th October
Wednesday 9th October
Wednesday 29th January
Saturday 1st February
Wednesday 14th May
Saturday 17th May
Saturday 12th October
Wednesday 16th October
Wednesday 5th February
Saturday 8th February
Half Term (no lesson)
Saturday 19th October
Wednesday 23rd October
Wednesday 12th February
Half Term (no lesson)
Half Term (no lesson) Half Term (no lesson)
Wednesday 4th May
Saturday 7th June
Half Term (no lesson)
Half Term (no lesson)
Wednesday 11th May
Saturday 14th June

Saturday 9th November
Wednesday 13th November
Wednesday 26th February
Saturday 1st March
Wednesday 18th June
Saturday 21st June
Saturday 16th November
Wednesday 20th November
Wednesday 5th March
Saturday 8th March
Wednesday 25th June
Saturday 28th June
Saturday 23rd November
Wednesday 27th November
Wednesday 12th March
Saturday 15th March
Wednesday 2nd July
Saturday 5th July
Saturday 30th November
Wednesday 4th December
Wednesday 19th March
Saturday 22nd March
Wednesday 9th July
Saturday 12th July
Saturday 7th December
Wednesday 11th December
Wednesday 26th March
Saturday 29th March
Summer Holidays:
11+ Summer Course
Saturday 14th December
Wednesday 18th December
Easter Holidays:
2025 Easter 11+ Course
Year 5 Pre-exam refresher lesson:
Wednesday 3rd September
Saturday 6th September

How to find our Maidenhead 11 Plus Tuition Centre

11+ Mock Exams With Marie Redmond 11+ Intelligent Video Learning®

Buckinghamshire, Slough, Reading and Kendrick 11 Plus mock exams in Amersham, Beaconsfield, Earley, Langley, High Wycombe and Stoke PogesGet exam ready with Marie Redmond Tuition® 11 Plus Mock Exams for the Buckinghamshire, Kendrick, Slough and Reading exams.

Students who sat our mock exams in 2023 said they were very similar to the actual tests, which made them feel prepared and confident when sitting the exam.

Ready to give your child a helping hand in the 11 Plus?

Register now
Exclusive tips